Technology in My Classroom

There are so many great things that I can use in my classroom to teach the standards effectively. The website that I would like to use from the Web Wardrobe would be Timetoast. We actually used this in my travel class for Germany this past Spring and it was very easy to use and really helped make sense of things that went on in History. For the specific assignment I had to create a timeline of the employment of Albert Einstein. Even thought it was an assignment for travel class and it did not count that much towards my grade I found it to be very helpful.

In my classroom I could use this in a Social Studies lesson. Each student could create their own timeline, or I could make this part of a collaborative group project. The possibilities are endless. We could even create a class timeline together! This is a very good website to use for the students who are visual learners too because they are placing things on their timeline, which lets them get the concept of how these things happened in history. This could also be used in science. We can create a week long virtual timeline about the weather that week and add to it everyday.

One thing that I liked about time toast was not only could you put the date and a description, but you can also put pictures with each event on the timeline. This might help the students because some remember facts by looking at pictures.

There would be a lot of verbs that go along with the time toast website. First would be under creating and that would be designing. The students in my class would be designing a timeline that helps them map out what went on in history. Next, would be under analysing because we are linking strands of history together to make it easier to connect. This assignment could be linked to many of these verbs, but this is just a few. Overall, this website could be very beneficial to tackle a standard and get the job done.

Here is a link to the site: http://www.timetoast.com/

Leave a comment